Bild Zollmuseum

MISSION

TO SHOW WHAT CUSTOMS DOES

THE SWISS CUSTOMS MUSEUM PRESENTS THE TASKS PERFORMED BY CUSTOMS AND EXPLAINS THE DIFFERENT FUNCTIONS OF THE SWISS BORDER AND THE SWISS BORDER GUARD AS THEY ARE TODAY AND AS THEY WERE IN THE PAST.

The management of its border has always been a traditional part of life for the small, independent Alpine republic of Switzerland. The Customs Museum recalls this past, but at the same time it shows the challenges facing Swiss Customs today in the context of global trade and a Europe of open borders.

The museum devotes special exhibitions to topical issues on a regular basis, often in co-operation with other institutions. Memorable, self-explanatory installations and numerous short films in several languages introduce the visitor to the topics in a vivid manner. The museum is open every afternoon from mid-April to mid-October. CHF 3.-/1.50, Free entrance until 6 years

Bild von Öffnungszeiten

HISTORY

FROM BORDER POST TO MUSEUM

THE CURRENT SWISS CUSTOMS MUSEUM BUILDING IN CANTINE DI GANDRIA WAS BUILT IN 1835 AND UP UNTIL 1921 SERVED AS A BORDER GUARD POST.

The old Customs house in Cantine di Gandria had been standing empty for several years when in 1935 Angelo Gianola, a Ticino border officer, had the idea of setting up a museum at this exclusive site. He asked his colleagues to collect everyday objects connected with the Border Guard. Smuggled goods, imaginative hiding places and means of transport ranked among the museum's main attractions in the first few decades after its opening in 1949. For that reason it is still known today as the "Smugglers' Museum".

In 1970 the concept was revised and the building was modified. Since reopening in 1978, the museum is constantly updated, with special exhibitions spotlighting specific themes.

back arrow

Bild Zollmuseum

AUFTRAG

ZEIGEN, WAS DER ZOLL MACHT

DAS SCHWEIZERISCHE ZOLLMUSEUM PRÄSENTIERT DIE AUFGABEN DES ZOLLS UND ERLÄUTERT DIE FUNKTIONEN VON GRENZE UND GRENZWACHE, HEUTE UND FRÜHER.

Das Bewirtschaften der Grenze hat für die kleine, eigenständige Alpenrepublik Schweiz Tradition. Diese ruft das Zollmuseum in Erinnerung, gleichzeitig zeigt es aber auch die Herausforderungen, denen der Schweizer Zoll heute, mit offenen Grenzen in Europa und globalem Handel, begegnet.

Aktuellen Themen widmet das Museum regelmässig Sonderausstellungen, oft in Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Institutionen. Einprägsame, selbsterklärende Installationen und zahlreiche Kurzfilme in mehreren Sprachen führen die Besucherinnen und Besucher jeden Alters auf anschauliche Art und Weise in die Themen ein.

Das Museum ist von Mitte April bis Mitte Oktober nachmittags geöffnet. CHF 3.-/1.50, Eintritt frei bis 6 Jahre.

Bild von Öffnungszeiten

GESCHICHTE

EIN GRENZPOSTEN WIRD ZUM MUSEUM

DAS GEBÄUDE DES HEUTIGEN MUSEO DELLE DOGANE SVIZZERO IN CANTINE DI GANDRIA WURDE 1835 ERBAUT UND DIENTE BIS 1921 ALS GRENZWACHTPOSTEN

Das alte Zollhaus in Cantine di Gandria stand schon einige Jahre leer, als der Tessiner Grenzwachtoffizier Angelo Gianola 1935 die Idee hatte, an diesem exklusiven Ort ein Museum einzurichten. Er forderte seine Kollegen zum Sammeln von Gegenständen aus dem Grenzwachtalltag auf. Schmugglerware, fantasievolle Verstecke und Transportmittel zählten in den ersten Jahrzehnten nach der Eröffnung 1949 zu den Hauptattraktionen des Museums. Im Volksmund heisst es deshalb heute noch "Schmugglermuseum".

1970 wurden das Konzept überarbeitet und das Gebäude umgebaut. Seit der Wiedereröffnung 1978 wird der Bestand des Museums laufend aktualisiert. Sonderausstellungen setzen thematische Akzente.