LOCATION AND HOW TO GET THERE

THE MUSEUM IS LOCATED ON THE SOUTH BANK OF LAKE LUGANO IN CANTINE DI GANDRIA, RIGHT ON THE GREEN BORDER WITH ITALY. THE BEST WAY TO GET THERE IS BY FERRY.

The trip across the lake from Lugano (Giardino, Centrale or Paradiso stops) takes approx. 25 minutes. The ferries dock directly at the museum (Museo doganale stop) or at Cantine de Gandria, from where it is a short walk along a footpath to reach the museum. Current timetables can be obtained from the shipping company.

PRICES AND OPENING HOURS

CHF 3.-/1.50, Free entrance until 6 years. Open daily from April to mid-October from 1.30 to 5.30 p.m.

REFRESHMENTS

There are several picnic spots in the museum's garden, right next to the lake. There are also two restaurants (reservation recommended):

Grotto Teresa: + 41 94 923 58 95

Grotto Descanso: +41 (0)91 922 80 71
grottodescanso@gmail.com

Ristorante Roccabella (in Gandria, opposite the Customs Museum): +41 (0)91 971 27 22
roccabella.gandria@ticino.com

Sight from the sea on the village of Gandria

WALKS AND HIKES IN THE SURROUNDING AREA

HIKES BETWEEN LUGANO AND THE CUSTOMS MUSEUM CAN BE COMBINED WITH STAGES BY FERRY.

The footpath on the north bank leading from Castagnola to Gandria is almost completely flat and the walk (approx. 45 minutes) is highly recommended. You can then take the ferry from there across to the Museo doganale or Cantine de Gandria stops. Castagnola can be reached from Lugano by car, bus or ferry.

The hike along the south bank from Arogno via Pugerna and Caprino to Cantine di Gandria is demanding. It takes approximately 3 hours and you will need sturdy footwear. Arogno can be reached by bus from Capolago or Lugano.

The section between Caprino and Cantine di Gandria (approx. 80 minutes) is among the most beautiful on Lake Lugano. It includes numerous ascents and descents, so sturdy footwear is recommended here too. After heavy rain it is not accessible, however. Caprino can be reached by ferry.

Picture Location

LAGE UND ANREISE

DAS MUSEUM BEFINDET SICH AM SÜDLICHEN UFER DES LUGANERSEES IN CANTINE DI GANDRIA, GLEICH AN DER GRÜNEN GRENZE ZU ITALIEN. ES IST AM BESTEN MIT DEM SCHIFF ERREICHBAR.

Die Fahrt über den See ab Lugano (Stationen: Giardino, Centrale oder Paradiso) dauert ca. 25 Minuten. Die Kursschiffe legen teils direkt beim Museum (Station: Museo doganale) an, teils in Cantine di Gandria, von wo aus das Museum über einen Fussweg in wenigen Minuten erreichbar ist. Über aktuelle Fahrpläne informiert die Schifffahrtsgesellschaft.

PREISE UND ÖFFNUNGSZEITEN

Offen täglich ab April bis Mitte Oktober von 13.30 bis 17.30 Uhr. CHF 3.-/1.50, Eintritt frei bis 6 Jahre

VERPFLEGUNG

Im Garten des Museums, direkt am See, gibt es verschiedene
Picknickplätze. Ca. 200m vom Museum entfernt, in Cantine die Gandria, befinden sich zwei Restaurants (Reservation empfehlenswert):

Grotto Teresa: +41 (0)91 923 58 95

Grotto Descanso: +41 (0)91 922 80 71
grottodescanso@gmail.com

Ristorante Roccabella (in Gandria, gegenüber vom Zollmuseum): +41 (0)91 971 27 22
roccabella.gandria@ticino.com

Bild von Gandria

SPAZIERGÄNGE UND WANDERUNGEN IN DER UMGEBUNG

WANDERUNGEN ZWISCHEN LUGANO UND DEM ZOLLMUSEUM LASSEN SICH MIT ETAPPEN AUF DEM SCHIFF VERBINDEN

Empfehlenswert ist der fast ebene Fussweg (ca. 45 Minuten) am nördlichen Seeufer von Castagnola bis Gandria. Von dort mit dem Kursschiff zur Anlegestelle Museo doganale oder Cantine di Gandria übersetzen. Castagnola erreicht man mit dem Auto oder mit Bus oder Kurssschiff ab Lugano.

Die Wanderung auf der südlichen Seeseite, von Arogno über Pugerna und Caprino nach Cantine di Gandria, ist anspruchsvoll, dauert ca. 3 Stunden und verlangt gutes Schuhwerk. Arogno erreicht man mit dem Bus ab Capolago bzw. Lugano.

Der Abschnitt zwischen Caprino und Cantine di Gandria (ca. 80 Minuten) zählt zu den schönsten am Luganersee. Er enthält mehrere Auf- und Abstiege, weshalb auch hier gutes Schuhwerk empfehlenswert ist. Nach starkem Regen ist er allerdings nicht begehbar. Caprino erreicht man mit dem Kursschiff.

Lageplan